07 September 2020

The finalists of the Women in law awards 2020

The Women in Law Awards 2020 has published the law firms and lawyers who are finalists for this year's awards. 

Among the finalists are prestigious firms such as Baker McKenzie, CMS, Simmons & Simmons, Allen & Overy, Clyde & Co, among others. 

The awards ceremony will take place on 11 November 2020 and will be held virtually. This competition rewards the best law firms for their success within the legal sector, but also rewards the most solvent women lawyers, as well as the best projects on gender diversity and diversity in general undertaken by law firms.

The panel of judges consists of the following legal professionals: Evelyn Styles, UK and Ireland general counsel at Hays; Kathleen Russ, senior partner at Travers Smith; Joanna Harris, head of responsible business at Simmons & Simmons; Tuvia Borok, executive director and senior counsel, legal department, Goldman Sachs; and Nicholas Cheffings, chair of PRIME

Below, we publish the most relevant lists of finalists: 

Law Firm of the Year (Large firms)
  • Baker McKenzie
  • CMS
  • Hill Dickinson
  • Shoosmiths
  • Simmons & Simmons
Law Firm of the Year (Small/Medium firms)
  • Brown Turner Ross
  • Hek Jones Solicitors
  • New Quadrant Partners
  • Setfords Solicitors
  • Tapestry Compliance
Gender Diversity Project of the Year
  • Allen & Overy
  • Baker McKenzie
  • Clyde & Co
  • Hill Dickinson
  • Obelisk Support
  • Simmons & Simmons
Diversity Project of the Year
  • Allen & Overy
  • Barclays
  • Garden Court Chambers
  • Paul Hastings
  • Simmons & Simmons
Woman of the Year
  • Clare Wade QC, Garden Court Chambers
  • Dr Charlotte Proudman, Goldsmith Chambers
  • Hannah Megan Markham QC, The 36 Group
  • Laura Sizemore, White & Case
  • Mary Prior QC, The 36 Group
  • Melanie Hall QC, Monckton Chambers
  • Penelope Warne, CMS
  • Sally Penni, Kenworthys Chambers
  • Sonia Janday, Aviva
  • Theresa Mohammed, Trowers & Hamlins
Male Diversity Champion of the Year 
  • Anthony David Erwin Metzer, Goldsmith Chambers
  • Christopher White, Aspiring Solicitors
  • Colin Passmore, Simmons & Simmons
  • Julian Smart, BLM
  • Michael Cavers, CMS
  • Naga Kandiah, MTC Solicitors
  • Richard Miskella, Lewis Silkin
Law Firm Leader of the Year 
  • Elizabeth Ward, Virtuoso Legal
  • Helen Johnson, Johnson Astills
  • Karen Seward, Allen & Overy
  • Lauren Mercurius-Taylor, MTC Solicitors
  • Lesley Gregory, Memery Crystal
  • Penelope Warne, CMS
  • Sharon Montgomery, Crane & Staples
  • Sue McLean, Baker McKenzie 
Copyright © The Impact Lawyers. All rights reserved. This information or any part of it may not be copied or disseminated in any way or by any means or downloaded or stored in an electronic database or retrieval system without the express written consent of The Impact Lawyers. The opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the positions or policies of The Impact Lawyers.

Would you like to read more?

The Impact Lawyers offers a FREE newsletter that keeps you up to date on news and analysis about the international latest legal news.
Please complete the form below and click on subscribe to receive The Impact Lawyers Newsletter subscription

Subscribe for free

The Impact Lawyers Newsletter

  • Practical templates and guides for lawyers and law firms
  • Podcasts, videos and webinars explaining how to be sucessful
  • Tips made by lawyers and other practitioners